EURO 2020: Turkey, Switzerland and Wales to play in Baku


Today, the draw for the final tournament of the 2020 European Championship was held at the ROMEXPO exhibition and concert complex in Bucharest, Romania.

As was known in advance, three matches of Group A and one quarter-final match will take place in Baku Olympic Stadium. According to the draw results, the national teams of Turkey, Italy, Wales and Switzerland are placed in Group A.

Since UEFA has designated Baku and Rome as pair host cities, the Italian national team will play all of its group matches at home, in the Stadio Olimpico.  The matches of the Turkish national team against the Swiss and Welsh teams, as well as the match between Switzerland and Wales will be hosted by Baku Olympic Stadium (BOS).  

The group matches in Baku will take place on June 13, 17 and 21, and the quarter final match in BOS is scheduled for July 4.  

Note that, according to a decision taken by the UEFA Executive Committee in 2012, the 2020 edition of the European Championship will be organized in 12 cities of Europe on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of the tournament. The opening match will be played in Rome, Italy, on June 12, and will kick off at 21:00 CET. The semifinals and final will be held in the Wembley Stadium, London.

At the draw ceremony, Baku as a host city was represented by a delegation consisting of Rovnag Abdullayev, AFFA President, Elshad Nasirov, AFFA Vice-President, Elkhan Mammadov, AFFA Secretary General, Kamran Valiyev, Project Coordinator of the Operation Group for EURO 2020 matches to be held in Baku, Konul Mehtiyeva, Head of AFFA International Relations Department, and Javid Garayev, Director of Baku Olympic Stadium.     

Next news

Latest video