Bucharest to stage UEFA EURO 2020 finals draw

21 October 2019

As a way to mark the 60th anniversary of the tournament, in 2020 the European Championship will be held in 12 different venues across 12 different cities in 12 different nations.

Baku Olympic Stadium will stage at three group stage games and a knock-out round tie. There will be no automatic qualifying berth, and all 55 UEFA national teams, including the 12 national teams whose countries will stage matches, must compete in the qualifiers for the 24 places at the finals tournament. The UEFA Nations League will be linked with UEFA Euro qualifying, providing teams another chance to qualify for UEFA Euro 2020.

The qualifying group stage draw was held on 2 December 2018 at the Convention Centre in Dublin, Republic of Ireland.  According to the draw, the national team of Azerbaijan will compete with Croatia, Wales, Slovakia and Hungary in Group E.

Azerbaijan will play its first match at the qualifying round against Croatia in Zagreb on March 21.


Next news

Latest video