The UEFA European Championship is a four-year tournament for UEFA national teams. The first tournament was held in 1960. The first name of the tournament was the UEFA Nations Cup. But the tournament has been called the European Championship since 1968.

The first tournament was held in France and was won by the Soviet Union, who beat Yugoslavia 2–1 in the final.   

The tournament will celebrate its 60th anniversary in 2021 and will be held for the 16th time in 11 different European cities.

Spain and Germany are the top national teams in the history of the European Championships, winning three times each. France is the leader in hosting the tournament. “The strongest team of the continent” title has been clarified three times in this country.

Up to now, 10 different national teams have won the European Championship.

24 national teams will compete for the title at the European Championship, which will be held from June 11 to July 11. Baku will host three group matches and a quarter-final game of UEFA EURO 2020



Next news

Latest video